Behind the curtain

by knockrz

Like almost all the other supposed hidden-gems in NYC…there will be a line to get in. On a Saturday afternoon at 2:30pm, we still waited half an hour. Expect to wait even longer during peak times and don’t be surprised if you can’t find seating because there are very few available.

To be honest though, burgers made to order and perfectly cooked to temperature do take time…and are worth the wait I might add. Your only choices here are a hamburger or cheeseburger, with your desired condiments. Keeping things plain and simple, I like that. I ordered a cheeseburger, medium-rare, with lettuce, tomatoes, pickles, and ketchup. And that’s exactly what I got. A juicy meat patty with the right proportion of toppings, sandwiched between a normal potato bun. That disappeared a minute later…

Not to nit-pick, but my friend and I felt that the meat lacked that extra oomph in flavor. The french fries, albeit fresh, also lacked the slightest sprinkle of salt. In terms of a solid, tasty, and well-cooked burger, Burger Joint ranks among the top fast-food burger spots in NYC and lives up to the hype. However, pound for pound, I’d still prefer to go with a good Shake Shack burger. Not to mention Burger Joint is cash only too.

[04.23.2012]
I’ll reiterate some of what I said from my previous visit and keep it simple. Burger Joint has the best consistently cooked meat out there in the category of fast food burgers. After a few tender and very juicy bites, you’ll wonder where your burger disappeared to. Answer: your belly. But once again, as good as the meat quality is, it still needs more flavor. That’s the only flaw in an otherwise perfect fast food burger.

For my second visit, we came around 8pm on a Monday night. The not-too-ridiculous line moved quickly and our orders came out fast. We were lucky enough to secure a booth to enjoy our pitcher of beer and fries. When we were done scarfing down our meal, a low rumble told us our hunger had not subsided. Luckily, the line had dwindled down to just a couple deep. Unable to pass up the opportunity, we decided to go for round 2. The medium rare cheeseburger was just as good and consistent as the previous ones, but the fries were not as fresh. Can’t have everything I guess. All in all, Burger Joint killed it again.

 

http://www.parkermeridien.com/eat4.php

